JUNE 11TH, 1776


June 11, 1776: Congress appoints "Committee of Five" to draft the Declaration of Independence

On This Day...

June 11, 1776, Congress appoints "Committee of Five" to draft the Declaration of Independence. In 1776, the Continental Congress selects Thomas Jefferson of Virginia, John Adams of Massachusetts, Benjamin Franklin of Pennsylvania, Roger Sherman of Connecticut and Robert R. Livingston of New York to draft a declaration of independence.

Knowing Jefferson's prowess with a pen, Adams urged him to author the first draft of the document, which was then carefully revised by Adams and Franklin before being given to Congress for review on June 28.

The revolutionary treatise began with reverberating prose:

"When, in the Course of human Events, it becomes necessary for one People to dissolve the Political Bands which have connected them with another, and to assume, among the Powers of the Earth, the separate and equal Station to which the Laws of Nature and of Nature's God entitle them, a decent Respect to the Opinions of Mankind requires that they should declare the Causes which impel them to the Separation.

"We hold these Truths to be self-evident that all Men are created equal, that they are endowed, by their Creator, with certain unalienable Rights, that among these are Life, Liberty, and the Pursuit of Happiness."

Congress would not tolerate the Committee of Five's original language condemning Britain for introducing the slave trade to its American colonies as a "cruel war against human nature itself, violating its most sacred rights of life & liberty." Those "distant people who never offended" would have to wait another century and for another war before their right to "life, liberty, and the pursuit of happiness" would begin to be recognized.




Go to the Site Map



Thanks for Viewing the SARSAT.ORG Website.
Please Return Soon.



Max Strozier


Web Page Created:

13 June 2008


Web Page Updated:

12 June 2011